You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.


Amsterdam University of Applied Science

The Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences/Hogeschool van Amsterdam (AUAS/HvA) is based in The Netherlands, in the city of Amsterdam. Amsterdam is a cosmopolitan city where 175 different nationalities live and work together and where the English language is largely spoken. The city is a hotbed of education and research in all conceivable areas: culture and society, trade, logistics, aviation, shipping, ICT, sport, healthcare, education and much more. At AUAS/HvA we take full advantage of this wealth of opportunities in order to provide the best possible education and produce cutting-edge research. The AUAS/HvA consists of seven schools. We have a total of 43,000 students and offer a total of 80 bachelor and master programmes. We have 250 partner institutes across 50 different countries and contribute to various educational projects such as curriculum development, research projects, student/lecturer exchanges and work placements within an international working field. This ensures that the education provided by AUAS/HvA is truly internationally orientated. (Source: the university’s website)

Degree Courses Taught in English: Yes
Online/Distance courses offered:
Bachelors Course Duration: Semesters (8) Years (4)
Masters Course Duration: Semesters (N/A) Years (N/A)

None required.

IELTS 6.5 (choose the Academic test if possible), TOEFL (paper: 575) Computer: 232, Internet: 86 / TOEIC: 700, Cambridge ESOL: CAE level B required.

Like most Dutch universities, the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences/Hogeschool van Amsterdam (AUAS/HvA). To assist international students in finding appropriate accommodation, the AUAS/HvA cooperates with the housing corporations De Key, DUWO and Ymere.

For information on living in halls, please visit the university’s Accommodation pages:


Finding accommodation on your own? Then check this link:

How To Find accomodation On Your Own



Higher education in the Netherlands is offered at two types of institutions: Research universities and universities of applied sciences. Research universities include general universities, universities specialising in engineering and agriculture, and the Open University. Universities of applied sciences include general institutions as well as institutions specialising in a specific field such as agriculture, fine and performing arts or teacher training.

Whereas research universities are primarily responsible for offering research-oriented programmes, universities of applied sciences are primarily responsible for offering programmes of higher professional education, which prepare students for specific professions. These tend to be more practice oriented than programmes offered by research universities.

In this binary, three-cycle system, Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD degrees are awarded. Universities of applied sciences offer short-cycle Higher Education leading to the associate degree. Degree programmes and periods of study are quantified in terms of the ECTS credit system.

The focus of degree programmes determines both the number of credits required to complete the programme and the degree that is awarded. A research-oriented bachelor’s programme requires the completion of 180 credits (three years) and graduates obtain the degree Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science (BA/BSc), depending on the discipline.

In most cases, a bachelor’s degree awarded in the applied arts and sciences requires 240 credits (four years), and graduates obtain a degree indicating the field of study (for example, Bachelor of Engineering, B Eng., or Bachelor of Nursing, B Nursing). Students who have a VWO diploma may be exempted from one year of study, allowing them to complete a Bachelor’s programme in the applied arts and sciences in three years (after completion of 180 credits). An associate degree in the applied arts and sciences requires 120 credits (two years), and students who complete the two-year programme can continue studying for a bachelor’s degree in the applied arts and sciences.

A research-oriented master’s programme requires the completion of 60, 90 or 120 credits (one, one-and-a-half or two years). In engineering, agriculture, and mathematics and the natural sciences, 120 credits are always required. Graduates obtain a Master of Arts or Master of Science (MA/MSc). A master’s degree awarded in the applied arts and sciences requires the completion of 60 to 120 credits and graduates obtain a degree indicating the field of study (for example, Master of Architecture, M Arch).

The third cycle of higher education, leading to a PhD or to a Professional Doctorate in Engineering (PDEng), is offered only by research universities. The major requirement for the PhD, which is offered by all research universities, is completion of a dissertation based on original research that is publicly defended.

A guaranteed standard of higher education, and alignment with the Qualifications Framework for the European Higher Education Area, is maintained through a system of legal regulation and quality assurance, in the form of accreditation. The Ministry of Education, Culture and Science is responsible for legislation pertaining to education. The agriculture and public health ministries play an important role in monitoring the content of study programmes in their respective fields.

The Accreditation Organisation of the Netherlands and Flanders (NVAO) administers quality assurance.


Dutch tuition fees are usually €1906 per year for 2014/15, and the mandatory public healthcare insurance costs €460.