You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.


Amsterdam University of the Arts

Amsterdam University of the Arts (AHK) is the formation of several other institutions which consist of: School of the Arts, The Academy of Fine Art in Education, the Conservatorium van Amsterdam, the Netherlands Film Academy, de Theaterschool, the Reinwardt Academy, and the Amsterdam Academy of Architecture.  The university itself is constantly innovating and developing. It occupies a prominent place, both nationally and internationally, in education, the arts and cultural life. The courses are given in alluring locations in Amsterdam, the cultural centre of the Netherlands. The AHK offers courses at bachelor and advanced or master level in the following subjects: fine art and design, music, film and television, theatre, dance, museum studies, and architecture.  AHK trains students for the national and international world of art, culture and heritage. The AHK stands for educational excellence. In supporting exceptionally talented students to develop their artistic identity and cultivate an innovative vision, our outstanding tutors provide a solid grounding in skills and tradition, in collaboration with the international trend-setting cultural community of which Amsterdam is the centre. (Source: the university’s website)

Degree Courses Taught in English: Yes
Online/Distance courses offered: TBC
Bachelors Course Duration: Semesters (N/A) Years (N/A)
Masters Course Duration: Semesters (4) Years (2)

None required.

IELTS 6.5 minimum required.

The Amsterdam School of the Arts offers limited accommodation facilities, but there are several ways to arrange an accommodation.

For information on living in halls as well as private housing options, please visit the university’s Accommodation pages:

Most study programmes at the Amsterdam School of the Arts are quite demanding. However, many students succeed in combining study and work. If you are a citizen of the EU/EEA (except for Croatia) and Switzerland you do not need a work permit.

For detailed and up-to-date information on working in Holland, please visit the European Commission’s EURES website:

For information on student jobs opportunities, please visit the following websites:


Museology = 18 months, 90 credits, €10500 per course

Higher education in the Netherlands is offered at two types of institutions: Research universities and universities of applied sciences. Research universities include general universities, universities specialising in engineering and agriculture, and the Open University. Universities of applied sciences include general institutions as well as institutions specialising in a specific field such as agriculture, fine and performing arts or teacher training.

Whereas research universities are primarily responsible for offering research-oriented programmes, universities of applied sciences are primarily responsible for offering programmes of higher professional education, which prepare students for specific professions. These tend to be more practice oriented than programmes offered by research universities.

In this binary, three-cycle system, Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD degrees are awarded. Universities of applied sciences offer short-cycle Higher Education leading to the associate degree. Degree programmes and periods of study are quantified in terms of the ECTS credit system.

The focus of degree programmes determines both the number of credits required to complete the programme and the degree that is awarded. A research-oriented bachelor’s programme requires the completion of 180 credits (three years) and graduates obtain the degree Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science (BA/BSc), depending on the discipline.

In most cases, a bachelor’s degree awarded in the applied arts and sciences requires 240 credits (four years), and graduates obtain a degree indicating the field of study (for example, Bachelor of Engineering, B Eng., or Bachelor of Nursing, B Nursing). Students who have a VWO diploma may be exempted from one year of study, allowing them to complete a Bachelor’s programme in the applied arts and sciences in three years (after completion of 180 credits). An associate degree in the applied arts and sciences requires 120 credits (two years), and students who complete the two-year programme can continue studying for a bachelor’s degree in the applied arts and sciences.

A research-oriented master’s programme requires the completion of 60, 90 or 120 credits (one, one-and-a-half or two years). In engineering, agriculture, and mathematics and the natural sciences, 120 credits are always required. Graduates obtain a Master of Arts or Master of Science (MA/MSc). A master’s degree awarded in the applied arts and sciences requires the completion of 60 to 120 credits and graduates obtain a degree indicating the field of study (for example, Master of Architecture, M Arch).

The third cycle of higher education, leading to a PhD or to a Professional Doctorate in Engineering (PDEng), is offered only by research universities. The major requirement for the PhD, which is offered by all research universities, is completion of a dissertation based on original research that is publicly defended.

A guaranteed standard of higher education, and alignment with the Qualifications Framework for the European Higher Education Area, is maintained through a system of legal regulation and quality assurance, in the form of accreditation. The Ministry of Education, Culture and Science is responsible for legislation pertaining to education. The agriculture and public health ministries play an important role in monitoring the content of study programmes in their respective fields.

The Accreditation Organisation of the Netherlands and Flanders (NVAO) administers quality assurance.


Dutch tuition fees are usually €1906 per year for 2014/15, and the mandatory public healthcare insurance costs €460.